43 Of The Best Social Media Marketing Quotes

“Lead people with what they want. – Lead with what they’ve already said. – Lead people from where they’re at. – Lead them with the things that concern them.” – Sandi Krakowski (@sandikrakowski)

“Think like a publisher, not a marketer.” – David Meerman Scott (@dmscott)

“Transparency may be the most disruptive and far-reaching innovation to come out of social media.” – Paul Gillin (@pgillin)

“I use social media as an idea generator, trend mapper and strategic compass for all of our online business ventures.” – Paul Barron(@paulbarron)

Social Media Marketing

“The first rule of social media is that everything changes all the time. What won’t change is the community’s desire to network.” – Kami Huyse (@kamichat)

“Influence is NOT Popularity!” – Brian Solis (@briansolis)

“Social media allows big companies to act small again” – Jay Baer (@jaybaer)

“You can never go wrong by investing in communities and the human beings within them.” – Pam Moore (@pammktgnut)

“People want to do business with you because you help them get what they want. They don’t do business with you to help you get what you want.” – Don Crowther (@don_crowther)

“If you make customers unhappy in the physical world, they might each tell 6 friends. If you make customers unhappy on the Internet, they can each tell 6,000 friends.” – Jeff Bezos

“Engage, Enlighten, Encourage and especially…just be yourself! Social media is a community effort, everyone is an asset.” – Susan Cooper (@buzzedition)

Digital Marketing

“Word-of-mouth marketing isn’t about giving customers talking points, as if they were brand spokespeople. It’s about delivering an exceptional customer experience that makes customers want to recommend you.” – Deborah Eastman

“Pushing a company agenda on social media is like throwing water balloons at a porcupine.” – Erik Qualman (@equalman)

“Social media is about sociology and psychology more than technology.” – Brian Solis (@briansolis)

“Social media is not just an activity; it is an investment of valuable time and resources. Surround yourself with people who not just support you and stay with you, but inform your thinking about ways to WOW your online presence” – Sean Gardner (@2morrowknight)

“We have technology, finally, that for the first time in human history allows people to really maintain rich connections with much larger numbers of people.” –  Pierre Omidyar (@pierre)

“Going viral is not an outcome; it’s a happening. Sometimes it happens; sometimes it doesn’t. Just remember, fans are vanity and sales are sanity.” – Lori Taylor (@lorirtaylor)

Online Marketing

“When you’ve got 5 minutes to fill, Twitter is a great way to fill 35 minutes.” – Matt Cutts (@mattcutts)

“A brand is no longer what we tell the consumer it is – it is what consumers tell each other it is.” – Scott Cook

“Successful companies in social media function more like entertainment companies, publishers, or party planners than as traditional advertisers.” – Erik Qualman (@equalman)

“Social media is about the people! Not about your business. Provide for the people and the people will provide you.” – Matt Goulart

“Everyone starts out with nobody listening to them and nobody to listen to. How and who you add determines what Twitter will become for you.” – Laura Fitton (@pistachio)

“Humility, gentleness, and helpfulness go so much further and open doors you cannot imagine. Think from a higher level and try to see beyond today. Some hard work and insight will bring you to paths that will reward you so highly, it’ll make the little inconvenience you incurred so worth it.” – Ann Tran (@anntran_)

“Content Doesn’t Win. Optimized Content Wins” – Liana Evans (@storyspinner)

“Social media is just a buzzword until you come up with a plan.” – Unknown


“Your value doesn’t decrease based on someone’s inability to see your worth” – Ted Rubin (@tedrubin)

“When you lose followers because of where you stand – you strengthen your tribe.” – Glen Gilmore (@glengilmore)

“Trustworthy content has a balanced point of view. It asks and answers the right questions. It doesn’t love itself. It tries to inform and educate.” – Steve Farnsworth (@steveology)

“Content marketing is a commitment, not a campaign.” – Jon Buscall (@jonbuscall)

“Legendary service is one of the criteria that sets one company apart from its competitors. It’s the mark of a truly authentic company – you just can’t fake caring!” – Kim Garst (@kimgarst)

“Don’t say anything online that you wouldn’t want plastered on a billboard with your face on it.” – Erin Bury (@erinbury)

Facebook Marketing

“Social media will help you build up loyalty of your current customers to the point that they will willingly, and for free, tell others about you.” – Bonnie Sainsbury (@bsainsbury)

“You can buy attention (advertising). You can beg for attention from the media (PR). You can bug people one at a time to get attention (sales). Or you can earn attention by creating something interesting and valuable and then publishing it online for free.” – David Meerman Scott (@dmscott)

“When we are sharing stories to create bonds with other like-minded people, we want to give them social currency with the highest pass-on value we can.” – Jay Oatway (@jayoatway)

“Content-based marketing gets repeated in social media and increases word-of-mouth mentions; it’s the best way to gather buzz about a product.” – Marsha Collier (@Marshacollier)

“LinkedIn is a channel to increase, not a tool to replace, your networking efforts, and it is an excellent vehicle to facilitate some facets of your marketing and business strategies.” – Viveka vonRosen (@LinkedInExpert)

“If content is king, then conversion is queen.” – John Munsell (@JohnMunsell)

“We don’t have a choice on whether we do social media, the question is how well we do it.” – Erik Qualman (@equalman)

Which quote is your favorite? Did we forget to include your favorite social media quote? Let us know in the comment section below. And if you enjoyed this post, please share it with your friends!